Azure Cloud-Based Models

With the increase in huge amounts of data, managing and handling data becomes quite difficult. To solve such problems azure cloud-based models provide an easy way.

Azure's cloud-based modeling system is used for creating and managing services on the cloud.

On broad categorization, we have 4 different types of cloud-based models in Azure.

  1. Service Delivery Model
  2. Consumption-Based Model
  3. Cloud Service Model
  4. Cloud Deployment Model

Service Delivery Model

The service delivery model over the cloud includes computing power, storage, networking, and analytics. Let’s understand them in detail.

(i) computing power:- computing power includes servers such as windows, Linux, hosting environment, etc…

(ii) Storage:- Storage includes files and/or databases.

(iii) Networking:- It provides networking in azure but also outside when connecting to your company network.

(iv) Analytics:- It provides services for analysis, visuals, dashboards, and telemetry data.

Along with these services, there are six key concepts in the service delivery model.

(i) Scalability:- It is the ability to scale, allocate and deallocate resources at any time.

(ii) Elasticity:- It is the ability to scale dynamically.

(iii) Agility:- It is the ability to react fast(scale quickly).

(iv) Fault Tolerance:- It is the ability to maintain system uptime while physical and service component failure happens.

(v) Disaster Recovery:- It is the process and design principle which allow a system to recover from natural or human induced disasters.

(vi) High Availability:- It is the agreed level of operational uptime for the system.It is a simple calculation of system uptime versus whole lifetime of the system.

Consumption-Based Model

The consumption-based model is also known as the pricing model in the cloud. In this model, customers are only charged based on their resource usage.

Characteristics of Consumption-Based Model

(i) No upfront cost.

(ii) Pay-as-you go based model.

(iii) Stop paying when you do not require resources.

Cloud Service Model

The cloud service model provides three main services

(i) Iaas:- Infrastructure as a services

(ii)Paas:- Platform as a services

(iii)Saas:- Software as a services

Cloud Deployment Model

The cloud deployment model provides three main services

(i) Public Cloud :- All the services running on cloud provider hardware.No local hardware.Some services share hardware with other customers.

(ii) Private Cloud :- All the services running on your datacenter.Self-service should be provided.Hardware maintain by self.

(iii) Hybrid Cloud:-All the services running as per the public and private cloud.

Thanks for the read🙂.Do clap 👏if find it useful.

“Keep learning and keep sharing knowledge”



Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Nidhi Gupta

Nidhi Gupta


Database Engineer 👨‍💻.Heading towards cloud technologies✌️.